One Day in Food, Prague Edition

This post is about the food I enjoyed during my last full day in beautiful and lively, but seriously rainy, Prague.

Date: Saturday, October 10th, 2015
City of a Hundred Spires: Prague, Czech Republic
What I watched on TV that night while packing: a German music program where club versions of popular songs were mixed with different music videos. It was confusing.

 Breakfast

The day started with the buffet breakfast at Hotel Mala Strana. I kinda love when breakfast is included in the room rate because it saves me the trouble of figuring out where to eat breakfast.

This was a rather mixed breakfast plate with a cup of hot chocolate I ended up spilling all over the table.

After breakfast we headed to the beautiful and quirky Wallenstein Palace and Gardens (peacocks, grotto, owls, home of the Senate!) before hopping on the tram to the farmer’s market.

Lunch at the Farmer’s Market

The Saturday farmer’s market in Náplavka (along the riverbank) was busy and delicious! It had a great mix of things we could eat right away and items to take home. I went with mushroom soup, gluten-free goodies, prune plums, an apple (it was prime apple season!), and found some items to give as gifts when I got home.

Afternoon Snack at Bistro Sisters

I had walked by Sisters earlier in the trip and when we ended up shopping nearby I knew I wanted to drop in for open-face sandwiches. Absolutely adorable is the only way I can describe the location and the sandwiches.

Prague Bistro Sisters open face sandwich

Gelato Before Sunset

Given that it was my last evening in Prague I was determined to fit in a visit to Angelato. I went with dark chocolate and hokkaido pumpkin gelato. I think the hokkaido pumpkin was the flavour of the month and based on my experience, I would suggest you always order the flavour of the month!

Prague angelato gelato

After grabbing gelato we headed towards Charles Bridge and into Old Town to enjoy the sunset.

Sandwich on the Go from Bageterie Boulevard

In reality there are 15 Bageterie Boulevard locations in Prague but I felt like they were everywhere and that I needed to try it. Otherwise it would be like visiting Canada and not dropping into Tim Hortons. I pointed to a sign to order and it turned out I ordered their beef leeks in red wine sandwich from their Chef Menu, which I ate while waiting for the tram.

No “traditional” Czech food on this day but I had my fill of it on other days and if there’s one thing I learned during my visit, it’s that Prague is a cosmopolitan city that offers so much more than tradition.

Leave a Reply

