Forever Unconquered

Museum of Anatolian Civilizations smalltrI took this photograph just about one year ago (I’m off by a few hours). For most of the past year I’ve thought that the inscription translates to:

With good fortune. Forever the unconquered!

I’m not sure that it does. The artifact is on the grounds of the Museum of Anatolian Civilizations in Ankara, Turkey and I’m just not sure that the plaque I read matches this actual stone.

The thing is, it doesn’t really matter to me whether the inscription is on this artifact or another. I love the message – which I’ve shortened to forever unconquered or invictus in aeternum – and it’s basically the wish I have for myself and for you and for everyone.

Be the person you want to be. Don’t give in or give up. Don’t make a compromise that you can’t live with. Find teammates and stick with them, and together be forever the unconquered.

I hope it’s a sentiment I’ll remember to take with me through life and, if it helps you, I hope you’ll take it with you too.

Leave a Reply

