Burgers and Fried Chicken in Leon, Nicaragua

I spent 40 hours in Leon, Nicaragua last week and I had hoped it would be an adventure in food.  But if I listed the food I ate, it would sound like I only ate in mall food courts (ones with limited selection at that).  A hamburger, eggs/rice & beans, chicken burger with fries, spagetti, eggs & bacon, fried chicken.

Leon Burger

From Bigfoot Hostel’s Volcano Cafe

Fried Chicken from Tip Top - this is from the Tip Top location on 1 Calle NE (around the corner from Bigfoot)

Fried Chicken from Tip Top – this is from the Tip Top location on 1 Calle NE (around the corner from Bigfoot)

The American Style breakfast plate at La Perla Hotel.

The American Style breakfast plate at La Perla Hotel

I enjoyed the food, and I loved the energy in Leon, but I would do it differently next time around.  So, these are my takeaways: (1) If American fast food is what you like, you’ll have no trouble finding it in Leon, and (2) If you are travelling with someone with a limited palette, this is my case to plan ahead when having dinner 2300 miles away from home.

Leave a Reply

